Starting this week, Pennsylvania motorists must be aware of a new PA child safety seat law. Drivers must be sure that rear facing car seats are used for all children under the age of two. The measure officially becomes a new PA law on Friday, August 12. Parents are cautioned to follow the manufacturers height and weight requirements on their seats. Sometimes children will still be within the ranges, even if they are 2 or older.

Rear facing seats are said to lower the risk of death or serious injury in the event of a crash. According to the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA), child safety seats reduce the risk of fatal injury by 71% in infants and by 54% for toddlers. On average, three children were killed and 470 children injured every day in traffic crashes in 2013.

Pennsylvania is the fourth state to enact a rear-facing child safety seat law for young children. Similar laws have been passed in New Jersey, California and Oklahoma. Under the existing law, all children under 4 years of age must be restrained in an approved child passenger restraint system, and children between 4 and 8 years of age must be restrained in a booster seat. The new law requires children under age 2 to ride rear facing. The new regulations are based on 2011 recommendation by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Using an approved child safety seat correctly and according to the law is the best protection you can give your child. Be sure to use the correct type of car seat for your child’s age, height and weight. Child safety seats do save lives.

At Distasio & Kowalski, safety is our top concern.

Please take note of this new PA child safety seat law. If you or your child have been seriously injured in a car or truck accident, contact the injury lawyers at Distasio & Kowalski in Wilkes-Barre today at 570-970-5400 for a free consultation.